Close Menu

What are the Different Types of Driver’s Licenses in California?

Knowing the various types of driver’s licenses in California is crucial for residents and newcomers alike. Whether you are a seasoned driver or a new resident looking to obtain a license, you should know what options are available and what they mean. Our experts at the Personal Injury Legal Group have researched this topic and aim to provide clear and concise information on the types of driver’s licenses available in California. You will also learn about the requirements and distinctions associated with each.

Driver's Licenses in California

Class C License

The most common type of driver’s license in California is the Class C license, designed for regular passenger vehicle operation. If you are driving a car, van, or small truck, this is the license you will need. For you to obtain a Class C license in California, you must be at least 18 years old, pass a written exam, and then complete a driving test. For those under 18, a provisional license is available after completing specific requirements.

Class M License

Motorcycle enthusiasts will need a Class M license to legally operate a motorcycle on California roads. You must be at least 18 years old, have a Class C license, pass a written motorcycle knowledge test, and complete a motorcycle skills test for you to obtain this license. It is important to note that motorcycle riders under 21 are required to complete a motorcycle training course before obtaining their Class M license.

Class A and Class B Licenses

If you are looking to operate larger vehicles like trucks or buses, you will need either a Class A or Class B license. The Class A license is required for vehicles weighing over 25,000 pounds towing a trailer or other vehicles exceeding 10,000 pounds. The Class B license is necessary for single vehicles weighing over 25,000 pounds. Both licenses require passing written exams and a skills test. Additional endorsements, such as the passenger or hazardous materials endorsement, may be needed for specific types of vehicles or cargo.

Here is a quick summary of both Class A and B licenses;

Class A:

  • Eligibility: To apply for a Class A license, applicants must be at least 18 years old. It is important to note that this license is necessary when operating vehicles with a GVWR exceeding 26,000 pounds.
  • Testing requirements: Obtaining a Class A license involves passing both written exams and a skills test. The written exams typically cover general knowledge and may include specific questions related to operating combination vehicles. The skills test evaluates the applicant’s ability to operate the specific combination of vehicles they intend to drive.
  • Endorsements: Depending on the type of cargo or vehicle, additional endorsements may be required. For instance, if the driver plans to transport hazardous materials, they will need to obtain a Hazardous Materials (HazMat) endorsement. Other potential endorsements include tanker, doubles/triples, and passenger endorsements.

Class B:

  • Eligibility: Similar to the Class A license, applicants for a Class B license must be at least 18 years old. This license is suitable for drivers operating vehicles like buses, box trucks, and other single-unit vehicles with a GVWR exceeding 25,000 pounds.
  • Testing requirements: The application process for a Class B license involves passing written exams that cover general knowledge relevant to the operation of the specific type of vehicle. Additionally, a skills test is required to assess the applicant’s ability to handle the vehicle safely.

Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)

The Commercial Driver’s License is essential for individuals seeking employment in commercial driving, transporting passengers, or hauling hazardous materials. There are three classes of this license: A, B, and C, with various endorsements specifying the type of vehicle or cargo you are authorized to operate. Obtaining a CDL involves passing written exams and skills tests and meeting specific medical requirements.

Senior Driver’s License

California recognizes the needs of its senior drivers and has implemented additional requirements for drivers aged 70 and older. Renewing a license at this age requires an in-person visit to the DMV, where a written test and vision test may be administered. It is important for senior drivers to stay informed about these additional requirements to ensure their driving privileges are maintained.

Seek the Service of Professional Attorneys

Whether you are a new driver or a seasoned road warrior, staying informed about the requirements and distinctions associated with each license type is crucial. Our experts at the Personal Injury Legal Group are ready to guide you through everything you need to know. Get in touch with us today.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus